Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Transferring a Motor Vehicle by Non-Probate Affidavit in Arizona

Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute 14-3971(D), the Motor Vehicle Division shall transfer title of a motor vehicle from the decedent to the successor or successors on presentation of an affidavit stating that thirty days has passed since the decedent’s death, and either (1) an application or petition for the appointment of a personal representative is not pending and a personal representative has not been appointed in any jurisdiction and the value of all personal property in the decedent’s estate is less than $50,000 as valued as of the date of death or (2) the personal representative has been discharged or more than one year has passed since a closing statement has been filed and the value of all personal property in the decedent’s estate is less than $50,000 as valued as of the date of the affidavit. In addition, the claiming successor must be entitled to the vehicle.

To make the transfer, you will need to turn in the certificate of title to the Motor Vehicle Division along with a certified copy of the decedent’s death certificate, Title and Registration Application form, and the Non-Probate Affidavit for Obtaining Title to the Vehicle of an Arizona Decedent which can be found here

A.R.S. 14-3971

Disclaimer

No comments:

Post a Comment